Annual parish walk – in support of CAFOD

It’s the walk to Escomb next week on Sunday 10th June leaving from St Wilfrid’s Church (on Hexham Street, Bishop Auckland, DL14 7PU) at 2pm, arriving at Escomb Church about 3pm. Come and enjoy a pleasant afternoon with friends. Tea will be ready for all at St Wilfrid’s on the return. If anyone would like to visit Escomb Church by car they will be very welcome.

First Communion Masses

Some of the young people in our parish will be taking their First Communion at Mass next weekend. The Mass at St Mary’s Church will be at 10:30am on Saturday 12th May and St Wilfrid’s Church will be at the usual time of 09:30am on Sunday 13th May.

Job vacancy: Parish Secretary

Do you have excellent and up-to-date IT skills to support us here in the parish with general office and administration duties? 10 hours per week. 12 month fixed term contract. For further information and an application form please contact: Katherine Nugent, Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle, tel: 0191 243 3301 or email: human.resources@diocesehn.org.uk An application pack is also available at www.rcdhn.org.uk

Lent Lunches 2018

Lent Lunches begin this year on Ash Wednesday, 14th February, with a newcomer to our usual list, Auckland Park Church. The lunches are held every week on Wednesdays in Lent, 12:00-1:30pm.

  • Wednesday 14th Feb 12.00pm Auckland Park Church DL14 8RG
  • Wednesday 21st Feb 12.00pm South Church Methodist DL14 6ST
  • Wednesday 28th Feb 12.00pm St. Mary’s R.C. Church DL14 6PQ
  • Wednesday 7th March 12.00pm B/A Methodist Church DL14 6EN
  • Wednesday 14th March 12.00pm Woodhouse Close Church DL14 6PD
  • Wednesday 21st March 12.00pm St. Anne’s Anglican Church DL14 7NJ

There is no charge for the meal but any donations received will be given to tearfund.

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity 2018

The Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, starts on Thursday 18th January. We will be hosting one of the 9:30am Unity Services here at St Mary’s Church on Friday 19th January.

As part of this special week, there will be a United Service at Bishop Auckland Baptist Church on Sunday 21st January at 3pm with a guest speaker, Fr Gordon Ryan, department Head of Ecumenism for the Diocese of Hexham & Newcastle. Everyone is welcome to attend.

The final service for the Week of Prayer is on Thursday 25th January and will, as usual, be in St Paul’s Church at Witton Park at 7pm. This day is the feast of the Conversion of St Paul.

1 2 3 7